Twitter is rolling out a new feature called Safety Mode to a small group of English-speaking users. When users turn on the feature, Twitter will automatically block accounts for seven days based on "the likelihood of a negative engagement," the company said in a blog post Wednesday.
Twitter will assess whether an account should be blocked based on the content of its tweets and the existing relationship between the account holders. "Accounts you follow or frequently interact with will not be autoblocked," Twitter's senior product manager Jarrod Doherty wrote in the post.
Once autoblocked, an account will not be able to see a user's tweets or contact them via direct messages. "We want you to enjoy healthy conversations, so this test is one way we're limiting overwhelming and unwelcome interactions that can interrupt those conversations," Doherty wrote.